- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > History > Five Dynasties]

Chinese History - Five Dynasties 五代 (907-960)

Periods of Chinese History
Five Dynasties:
Later Liang 後梁 (907-923)
Later Tang 後唐 (923-936)
Later Jin 後晉 (936-946)
Later Han 後漢 (947-950)
Later Zhou 後周 (951-960)

The Five Dynasties Wudai 五代 (907-960) were short-lived empires that were founded in the north as successor states of the great Tang dynasty 唐 (618-907). Their main or eastern capital was in Kaifeng 開封, Henan, the western capital was Luoyang 洛陽, Henan. Three of the Five Dynasties were founded by non-Chinese persons, namely the Turk Li Keyong 李克用, founder of the Later Tang 後唐 (923-936), Shi Jingtang 石敬瑭, founder of the Later Jin 後晉 (936-946), and Liu Gao 劉暠, founder of the Later Han 後漢 (947-950). The dynastic succession as well as the internal politics of the Five Dynasties were deeply influenced by the khans of the Khitans in the north that founded the Liao empire 遼 (907-1125). In 960 a general of the Later Zhou dynasty 後周 (951-960), Zhao Kuangyin 趙匡胤 (Emperor Taizu 宋太祖, r. 960-975), founded the Song dynasty 宋 (960-1279) and conquered southern China, thus partially reuniting China.

2000 ff. © Ulrich Theobald · Mail

Map and Geography

Event History

Emperors and Rulers

-- Ten States

Government and Administration

Literature and Philosophy


Technology and Inventions